Category Archives: Librarianship

Library Week in Ireland-Cool Video


News from MLA

2011/12 MLA Election Results
On December 8, 2010, the 2011/12 MLA election results were certified and notarized by Survey and Ballot Systems, MLA’s election contractor. All candidates have been given the results, and MLA thanks everyone who agreed to run. The candidates listed below will assume office at the conclusion of MLA ’11 in Minneapolis.

Jane L. Blumenthal, AHIP, Director, Taubman Health Sciences Libraries, University of Michigan–Ann Arbor

Board of Directors (2011–2014)

  • Michelle Kraft, AHIP, Senior Medical Librarian, Alumni Library, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH
  • Gabe R. Rios, Deputy Director, Lister Hill Library of the Health Sciences, University of Alabama–Birmingham
  • Joy Summers-Ables, AHIP, Associate Director and Head of Library Computing and Information Services, Robert M. Bird Health Sciences Library, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center–Oklahoma City

Nominating Committee

  • Margaret (Peg) Allen, AHIP, FMLA
  • Janet L. Cowen, AHIP
  • Melissa De Santis, AHIP
  • Rosalind F. Dudden, AHIP, FMLA
  • Patricia C. Higginbottom, AHIP
  • Joanne Gard Marshall, AHIP, FMLA
  • Mary Fran Prottsman, AHIP
  • Melissa Rethlefsen, AHIP
  • Patricia L. Thibodeau, AHIP, FMLA

Connie Schardt, AHIP, MLA’s 2010/11 immediate past president, will chair the Nominating Committee. Continue reading

Interested in running for MLGSCA Office??

The MLGSCA Nominating Committee is beginning the process of putting a slate of candidates together for the 2011 election.  The election will be for the year that being July 2011.

This year we have 5 offices to fill.  They are as follows:

  • President elect – – 3 yr term: pres elect, president, nominating committee chair
  • Secretary — 1 yr term
  • Treasurer — 2 yr term
  • MLG Nominating Comm – – 2 spots, -2 yr term
  • Nominee to MLA Nominating Committee

If you are interested in one of these positions or know someone who you feel would be a good candidate for one of these positions, please let one of the nominating committee members know ASAP.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Your nominating committee:

Lisa Marks, Chair

Carol Ann Attwood

Brooke Billman

Laura Brown

Kathleen Carlson

Puzzled by Patron-Driven Acquisitions?

By Barbara Fister November 11, 2010 9:45 pm EST on Inside Higher Education

The buzz at the recent Charleston Conference (and practically every other recent conference at which academic librarians have gathered) is a combination of new formats and a new collection development philosophy, shifting from print collections with titles chosen by librarians and faculty to making thousands of e-books available and letting the purchasing choices be made by “patrons”–an old-fashioned term for library users of all stripes, a large contingent of which are undergraduates writing “research papers” that are mostly papers synthesizing other people’s research.

(Though one might think the “research paper” that has little to do with genuine research should have disappeared sometime after 1982, when Richard Larson famously skewered it as a “non-form of writing” that gives authentic research a bad name, but in fact this kind of expository writing from sources is more prevalent than ever. But I digress.)

This new way of building collections emphasizes speed and choice, things that are popular these days. No need to wait for interlibrary loan; just click on the title in a large shopping mall of e-books and you can have what you want right away. One model that’s popular is to enter the e-book options into the library’s catalog. Browsing for a short period of time is free; browsing for a longer period is treated as a rental and the library pays a fee; and if a book is “rented” four times, the library automatically purchases the book. Continue reading